Baking BabyBigTime: 8 Weeks

Photo Thoughts: 


Size of baby: Sweet little raspberry

Cravings/Diet: I need me a sandwich! A big one chock full of pregnancy no-no’s: sprouts and deli turkey! Oh, and gluten….mmm…gluten. I’d love some turkey, some avocado, cheese and all the fixings between fresh sourdough bread, mmm! Oh man, I’d sure love one of those, but I’ll not risk listeria and e. coli, so I’ll stick to hot sandwiches, and Quiznos California Chicken Club is a pretty good second choice! 


What I love:  Being 8 weeks! It sounds so much more official than other weeks, ha! I also love that we finally get our first appointment this week. We won’t get an ultrasound yet (grrr!), but we’ll get the process started and I’m excited about that!

 

What I miss: I miss sleeping in. It’s the weirdest thing, I want to go to bed early and I sleep like a rock until about 7:30 or 8:00 am, then, I’m up. We are a late-rising household, so my early mornings don’t quite mesh with that!

What I’m looking forward to the most: I’m still looking forward to an ultrasound, because I am so anxious to see proof of what my body is going through, but I’m also looking forward to moving to the second trimester in 4 weeks. Ohmygosh, this whole thing is starting to feel so real!

Worries: Last time I said I was worried I had made this whole thing up. I don’t feel like that anymore (well, I have my moments, but they are few and fleeting, thankfully!). I have such a peace about this pregnancy! This baby is a gift from God and I have decided to just accept it and not let my human doubts get in the way of my joy! A very human worry I’m having though, is of gaining more weight. I was very gung-ho to stay active and even lose a few more pounds the first two weeks, but I’ve been wanting to eat like crazy and I have very little motivation to stay active this week, I’ve got to remedy this asap!  

Symptoms:  I’m still lucky on the symptoms part, I sometimes feel a little off, but it’s rare and mild when I do. One thing I have been noticing and that I’d prefer to stop is the inability to brush my teeth in the morning after breakfast without throwing up. It’s so gross! I brush my teeth, and just as I’m rinsing my toothbrush, without any warning, up comes a bit of my breakfast. Yuck!

Sleep:  I fall asleep like a champ and I sure sleep hard, but when 8:00 am rolls around, I’m awake. Weird.

Movement: None, it’s still to early. I do feel some gas and bloating every now and again though 🙂

The belly: Only has some pre-pregnancy chub and I don’t think that’s going anywhere soon.

Milestones:  I have known I was pregnant for almost a month and I haven’t bought this baby anything! Partly because we are trying to be mindful with our money and any excess should go towards bills or savings, and partly because Ben asked me to wait until we are 12 weeks to be cautious. Also, I don’t want to ruin this sweet season by focusing on things, but more on focusing on the fact that I am growing our sweet baby.

Gender Predictions: I thought boy last time, but now I don’t know. I still don’t care though. I just want a healthy boy or girl! I had a strange dream last night, and I’m not quite sure if it means anything, but I’ll put it here just in case. I’ve heard that if a mama dreams she is having a certain sex, she will probably have it. Well, last night I had a dream my mom and dad were still married (and my dad was still alive) and they were expecting the same time as me – just further along. They were giving me a tour of their new home when my dad busted out a pink cell phone case and said they were having a girl! As we were hugging and celebrating, my mom said to me, “I still think you’re having a boy!” and then I woke up. Weird!


Amusing comments from the general public: None 🙂

Best moment of the week: This morning is Mother’s Day and this is the first year in a long time that I haven’t felt a twinge of sadness because me being a mother is so far off. This morning I woke with joy and excitement and such a feeling of thankfulness that next year, I’ll be waking to the sounds of my sweet baby, which is what I’ve wanted for as long as I can remember. I am so thankful to be pregnant! I woke up with a smile, opened the windows and made Ben a “Thank you for making me a mother!”‘s day breakfast of delicious cinnamon swirl french toast. It was a very sweet morning, and I am so, so thankful for this sweet season!

Leave a Reply

