Baking BabyBigTime: 28 Weeks

Size of baby: An eggplant – that seems really big!

Cravings/Diet: Apple cider, specifically, the fresh kind from the Farmer’s Market. I was able to convince Ben to get up early-ish this past Saturday and immerse ourself in true Portland culture in order to go get some, and it was delicious!

What I love: I love that I’m in my third trimester!

What I miss: I miss sleeping through the night and not waking up multiple times to pee…something tells me this is only going to get worse!

What I’m looking forward to the most:  They are still a month away, but my baby showers. I still have to pinch myself sometimes to realize that all this baby stuff is for me!

Worries:  I’m starting to wonder if we’ll need a Doula or not. We can’t afford to pay one (they’re about $500!), so we’d have to get a student, which I’m fine with, so long as she has experience and would be a good resource and calming, encouraging presence in my labor room. I think Ben and I would be a good team together and especially after seeing him in our birthing class, I think he’s going to be a great support for me, so maybe a third person in the room would be distracting and seem like an invasion in our own private world? Decisions, decisions!   

Symptoms:  My body feels it when I’ve had an activity-filled day. I get more sore and the sciatica flares up in the evening if I’ve done a lot of lifting, bending or walking. I’m also back to throwing up when I brush my teeth, only now, instead of a little bit coming up, I full on projectile vomit into the sink. Totally gross. Oh, and if I suddenly sneeze or cough too hard, I totally pee my pants a tiny bit. Also awesome.

Sleep: This pesky bladder is making itself known and interrupting my sleep! The other night I finally fell asleep around midnight, only to wake up at three, then four and then finally at five thirty for work. Blech. Though my night time sleeping is starting to get quite patchy, My naps are hard core!

Movement: All the time! I’m starting to feel less random kicks and more generalized movement all around. Last night, we were sitting on the couch and I asked Ben if he wanted to feel her really moving. He put his hand on my belly and his face lit up. “Wow! She’s really moving around in there! Holy cow!” I loved how his eyes mouth had a perfectly happy little smile as he felt his little daughter dancing up a storm in my womb. Sometimes, I could melt into a puddle of happiness when I think about that guy!

The belly: I’m getting there!

Milestones: OMG we’re officially in the third trimester!

Gender Predictions: Our ultrasound a few weeks ago confirmed girl, but no, we don’t have a name yet. We do have a front-runner, but we’re not completely settled on it yet. I think it’s funny that every single person who sees that I’m pregnant asks what we are having and then what we are naming her. I know it’s my own pregnancy hormones, but I feel like they are asking me something super personal and I almost get offended – isn’t that weird? Of course, the girl at the coffee shop isn’t really asking me delicate details about my life, she certainly doesn’t how much time and effort I’ve put into finding “the name”, nor does she realize the overwhelming importance of picking the most perfect, unique-but-not-weird, name! Yes, I do need to take a chill pill!

Amusing comments from the general public: Maybe I don’t want to tell you my baby name, nor do I need your condescending looks when I say we haven’t settled on one yet! Girlfriend (ahem…me…) settle down!

Best moment of the week: I had a wretched week last week, but thankfully, it wasn’t pregnancy related at all, just life outside of my house. I think all of my favorite moments this past week somehow were connected to our lovely little home and how thankful I am for it and ones I share it with. I can’t even express how grateful I am that when the world is overwhelming, my home and my family are such a sweet sanctuary, and they are all mine!

Leave a Reply

