Baking BabyBigTime: 36 Weeks

Size of baby: Sweet baby girl is roughly 6 lbs (as estimated by my Midwife last week) and about the size of a honeydew melon. Girlfriend is running out of space and I can often feel her bootie all up in my lungs and her feet (I think!) trying to puuuuush their way out of my left side.

Cravings/Diet: These last few weeks have been focused on one thing: Thanksgiving, and more specifically, Pecan Pie. Oh man, it was naughty, not-at-all diabetes friendly, and absolutely heavenly! I may have had some for dessert, breakfast and then dessert again.

What I love: Getting ready for this girl to get here! Slowly, but surely, I am getting things in order. I swing back and forth between “Oh my gosh I have so much to do!” and “HolyFreakingMoly! I’m going to bring a baby into my house! ICANTWAIT!!”

What I miss: Being able to bend over to tie my shoes.

What I’m looking forward to the most:  Starting acupuncture and trying to get labor going naturally. Crazy exciting and weird!

Worries:  Since my last post, I really have surrendered our sweet girl’s birth to Jesus and I truly am not worried about anything right now.

Symptoms:  I started having Braxton Hicks this past week. None major or consistent, but mostly at the end of the day when my body is tired. I’m also still struggling with heartburn, mostly at night about two hours after dinner. Maybe acupuncture will help with this?

Sleep: I seem to have found a routine that is working, for now: 50 mg of Benadryl about 30 minutes before I need to sleep. Knocks me out until the morning. If I give myself more than 7 hours before I have to get up, I don’t feel like a zombie for hours in the morning either.

Movement: Still very frequent, still my favorite thing!

The belly: It’s getting bigger! I don’t think I’ve mentioned yet about my yuckiest pregnancy thing: stretch marks. Oh boy. These things came about 15 weeks ago (I’ve been ashamed to really admit them) and have continued to get worse and worse. I have them terribly and I am super sad about it. I know there is nothing more I can do, but I’m still bummed.

Milestones: We bought our infant carseat. My dad and Allison bought us an awesome convertible seat (the MaxiCosi Pria Air) which we were going to use straight from birth, but then REI had an amazing deal where if you bought a BOB Revolution stroller (which we already had) and the carseat adaptor for the Britax B-Safe infant seat, you got the B-Safe for free. So, with Ben’s discount, we were able to spend under $40 for the adaptor and we got a free carseat! Such a killer deal! The set up is really nice and the carseat fits super nicely into the stroller, and having a carseat we can take in and out of the car will be really convenient (we had decided to forgo this luxury for cost efficiency originally).

Gender Predictions: Still a nameless little girl :)

Amusing comments from the general public: Mostly just complimentary :)

Best moment of the week: Thanksgiving! We co-hosted with our friends David and Lisa at their house. It was a beautiful day filled with yummy food, visiting with friends who are practically family and lots of loving on these sweet babies-to-be (three of the four girls there were pregnant!).

 

One thought on “Baking BabyBigTime: 36 Weeks

  1. Pingback: Letters to Lydia: 1 Month | Blessed Beyond Measure

Leave a Reply

