I’m having a hard time being joyful today. I hate to complain, especially because I really do love my job and I really do feel honored to care for these precious kiddos, but my heart is so longing to be home today. Maybe it’s particularly bad today because I know Ben could use me to take Lydia today, or because my house is a disaster, or the “4 month wakeful” that has been wrecking havock on my previously good sleeper, or simply because its Monday.

I know there is a lesson in this season.

I know so many have it harder than me, and I know I am abundantly blessed to be in the situation we are in.

I know all that.

I also know I love my girl and I know I’m going to love when being her mama is my “full-time job.”

20130506-144847.jpg

2 thoughts on “

  1. Being her Mama is a full time job whether you are working outside the home or not! I loved this post! I am a “full time Mama” to my three boys- in addition to working outside the home 30 hours per week. Being away from them is so hard bit also gives us all the opportunity to miss each other a little and we are even more excited to see each other at the end of the day and connect around the dinner table. Breathe in this moment with your little lady- she’s beautiful! Peace, Mama!

  2. Being a working mom is so, so hard. You’re right, so many people have it harder than you, but that doesn’t mean that what you’re facing on a daily (sometimes hourly!) basis isn’t hard. Lydia is so lucky to have you and there is no doubt that she feels your love. Wish I had some comforting words … but all I can say is I get it. I was there for a long 2 1/2 years. Sending love to you!

Leave a Reply

