BakingBabyBigTime2.0: 32 Weeks

Well…surprise, surprise! Mama’s slacking and I have no bump photo this week. I’m also 5 days late posting this update, so I’ll just own it and try to post some pictures this weekend when we’re all fancied up for my sister’s wedding!

Size of Baby: Size of a squash! I think I said something cute about how Lydia would cost $15 dollars or something if I bought her at New Seasons. Funny how the budget is so different when you’re working full time and I spend all my extra money on cute things for my kid. I’d expect to pay more like $5 at Freddy’s for this baby – and I’d love eating it just as much as the expensive one from New Seasons! ūüėČ

Cravings/Diet: Well, I finally broke down into tears on the table at my Midwife’s office last week. I am so miserable and tired of the constant¬†discomfort in my bowels. Without going into too much detail, it’s been a constant and violent storm that switches between one extreme and the next – sometimes in the same day, which doesn’t even seem possible! She recommended I make some more dietary changes and have a salad every day and I’ve been trying. I’ve also been trying to cut out a ton of sugar, but really, there’s nothing as satisfying as an ice cream at the end of the day. As much as I want to say that I’ve made great dietary choices, I will fully admit that the $0.50 Frosty I treated Lydia and I to the other day was probably the best thing I’ve ever put into my mouth.

What I Love: BEING ON MATERNITY LEAVE!! I feel like the weight of the world has been lifted from my shoulders knowing I don’t have to go back to work. It was just getting to be too painful and I was so absolutely exhausted by the end of the day that I could hardly function to get myself home. Then, I’d spend the next day and a half on the couch just recovering from work. Ugh! Throw in my “I’ve gotta go to the bathroom RIGHT NOW” feelings, it was a miserable place for me to be and I feel like a whole new woman being home! Now, if only they process my freaking paperwork and my MW lets me stay out the whole time, I’ll really feel carefree!

What I Miss: Bending over without fire coming up my throat. Regular bowel movements. Tying my shoes.

What I’m Looking Forward to Most: Our family getaway¬†this weekend! My sister is getting married and we’re going to visit Crater Lake for a few days on the way home. Ben has been working like a mad-man lately and I’m so excited to spend some much-needed family time together, away from the looming to do list at the house and the constant demands of his job. For us to just enjoy being together. I’m so excited!

Worries: I had a growth ultrasound this past week to rule out sister being a little peanut like Lydia was, and they found that her right kidney is slightly dilated. I don’t really know what that means (not sure I want to google it) but I guess it often self-resolves. Either way, they want me to see a Perinatologist in the next few weeks to monitor progress and growth. I’m sure I will google it, and will probably have some moments of freaking out, but I’ll have to remind myself again and again the the Lord has a beautiful and perfect plan for this little girl, and whatever potential challenges come our way, we’ll take them with stride and will be so absolutely grateful for any and all moments we are given with her.

…ok…I just googled. Sounds like at worst it could be Hydronephrosis. I could totally deal with that. I sure as heck don’t want to have to, but in the grand scheme, we’d totally be ok.

Symptoms: Nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, constipation, acid reflux, sciatic pain, round ligament pain, constant urination and a desire to watch an excessive amount of TV while mowing down on some ice cream. Seem to be following the “How to Be Pregnant” guide to a T!

Sleep: Last time I loved my Snoogle, and this time I want nothing to do with it! I am preferring a pillow for my head, on for my belly and one for my legs. Get those suckers tucked in just right and I’m out for the night…or for at least 3 hours until when I have to get up and use the restroom. Thankfully, I don’t even really notice these middle of they night trips to pee, they are just part of the routine and I go right back to sleep. I should also point out here that Lydia is maybe the world’s best kid and will easily entertain herself in the mornings and let me sleep until 8 or 8:30. She’s a gem!

Movement: Baby girl is head down and enjoys pushing her bootie out to my left and practicing lots of flutter kicks! Water polo star in the making??

The Belly: Large and In Charge! Much to my horror, the stretch marks keep coming (“why are those cracks on your body, mama?”), but watev, I’m just thankful for the opportunity to birth another baby. At the end of the day, really, truly, that is what matters most! Stretch marks, messed pants, and burning esophagus aside, I am just so blessed to get to be a mama!

Milestones: Hmmm…I bought a car seat base so now I actually have everything I “need”? Granted, everything is in the attic in boxes, but it is technically in my house, so that has to count!

Gender Predictions: We confirmed our little girl is very much a girl on her ultrasound last week – Ben may have been holding out hope for a change, but he’s pretty settled into the idea of two sweet, tutu wearing little humans in our house!

Best Moment of the Week: Last time I was pretty mushy with these, but this time, I’m too tired for mush. My best moment was at the chiropractor. She pulled out this ginormous pillow with holes for my head, boobs and belly and I got to lay on my stomach – painlessly! – while she rubbed my spine and worked on my lower back. I can’t wait to go back! I’m also considering booking an hour with that just that pillow!

Pictures to come!

 

Leave a Reply

